HomePod mini vs HomePod
- Apple, confirmed by Apple Stated on an Apple page
- Report, reported, not confirmed by Apple Press report, not confirmed by Apple
- ≠ Differs Values differ between products
- Not stated: no stored source gives a value
- Open a value to see its sources.
| Field | HomePod mini (current) | HomePod (2nd generation) |
|---|---|---|
| Name | HomePod mini 2 Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 3 citations
| HomePod (2nd generation) Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 2 citations
|
| Field | HomePod mini (current) | HomePod (2nd generation) |
|---|---|---|
| Status | Announced Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 3 citations
| Not stated |
| Field | HomePod mini (current) | HomePod (2nd generation) |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $149 Report, reported, not confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
| Not stated |
| Earlier price | $99 Report, reported, not confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citationFrom a page that names no generation
| Not stated |
| Field | HomePod mini (current) | HomePod (2nd generation) |
|---|---|---|
| Chip ≠ Differs, one side reported | S10 chip Report, reported, not confirmed by Apple . Show 2 citations
| S7 system-on-a-chip Report, reported, not confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citationFrom a page that names no generation
|
| Chip details | TSMC's N4 4nm process Report, reported, not confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
| Not stated |
| Ultra Wideband ≠ Differs, one side reported | Ultra Wideband chip for device proximity Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citationFrom a page that names no generation
| U1 chip Report, reported, not confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
|
| Field | HomePod mini (current) | HomePod (2nd generation) |
|---|---|---|
| Drivers | Full-range driver and dual passive radiators for deep bass and crisp high frequencies Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
| Not stated |
| Woofer | Not stated | High-excursion woofer Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citationFrom a page that names no generation
|
| Woofer excursion | Not stated | 20 mm Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citationFrom a page that names no generation
|
| Tweeters | Not stated | array of five beamforming tweeters Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citationFrom a page that names no generation
|
| Sound field | Custom acoustic waveguide for a 360º sound field Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
| Not stated |
| Spatial Audio ≠ Differs | not applicable Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citationFrom a page that names no generation
| Spatial Audio Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citationFrom a page that names no generation
|
| Field | HomePod mini (current) | HomePod (2nd generation) |
|---|---|---|
| Microphones ≠ Differs, one side reported | Three-microphone design for far-field Siri Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
| four-microphone array Report, reported, not confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citationFrom a page that names no generation
|
| Field | HomePod mini (current) | HomePod (2nd generation) |
|---|---|---|
| Wireless ≠ Differs, one side reported | Wi-Fi 6E, Bluetooth 6, and Thread Report, reported, not confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
| 802.11n WiFi and Bluetooth 5.0 Report, reported, not confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citationFrom a page that names no generation
|
| Wi-Fi | Wi-Fi 6E (802.11ax) Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citationFrom a page that names no generation
| Not stated |
| Bluetooth | Bluetooth 6 Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citationFrom a page that names no generation
| Not stated |
| Thread | Thread networking technology Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citationFrom a page that names no generation
| Not stated |
| Field | HomePod mini (current) | HomePod (2nd generation) |
|---|---|---|
| Sensors ≠ Differs, one side reported | humidity and temperature sensors Report, reported, not confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
| Temperature and humidity sensor Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citationFrom a page that names no generation
|
| Room sensing ≠ Differs | not applicable Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citationFrom a page that names no generation
| Room sensing Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citationFrom a page that names no generation
|
| Field | HomePod mini (current) | HomePod (2nd generation) |
|---|---|---|
| Colors ≠ Differs | five stunning colors Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
| Midnight and White Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citationFrom a page that names no generation
|
| Field | HomePod mini (current) | HomePod (2nd generation) |
|---|---|---|
| Height | 3.3 inches high Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
| Not stated |
| Width | 3.9 inches wide Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
| Not stated |
| Dimensions | 3.3 inches tall and 3.9 inches wide Report, reported, not confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citationFrom a page that names no generation
| Not stated |
| Weight | 0.74 pound (335 grams) Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
| Not stated |
| Field | HomePod mini (current) | HomePod (2nd generation) |
|---|---|---|
| Power | 9V/2.22A required by HomePod mini 2 Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
| Not stated |
| Power adapter | 20W power adapter Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
| Not stated |
| Cable and port | beautiful color-matched woven power cord Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
| Not stated |
| Field | HomePod mini (current) | HomePod (2nd generation) |
|---|---|---|
| Software version ≠ Differs, one side reported | HomePod Software 27.2 Report, reported, not confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
| HomePod Software 26.5 Report, reported, not confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citationFrom a page that names no generation
|
| Siri ≠ Differs, one side reported | Siri AI, an entirely new version of Siri powered by Apple Intelligence Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citationFrom a page that names no generation
| Siri AI support Report, reported, not confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citationFrom a page that names no generation
|
| Field | HomePod mini (current) | HomePod (2nd generation) |
|---|---|---|
| Design | Round design Report, reported, not confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
| Not stated |
| Mesh | Two-tone, seamless mesh that's virtually transparent to the sound passing through it. Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
| Not stated |
| Touch controls | backlit tinted surface on top, controlled by your touch Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
| Not stated |
| Light | Light up the top of HomePod mini 2 with Sound Glow — a light experience featuring colors that match your album artwork and pulse in tune with the music. Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
| Not stated |
| Field | HomePod mini (current) | HomePod (2nd generation) |
|---|---|---|
| Smart home hub | Smart home hub Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citationFrom a page that names no generation
| Smart home hub Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citationFrom a page that names no generation
|
| Security camera feeds | With HomeKit Secure Video support, HomePod mini can analyze the feeds of your supported video cameras. Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citationFrom a page that names no generation
| Not stated |
| Intercom | With HomePod mini and Apple Home devices in the house, you can communicate with your family members by voice using Intercom. Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citationFrom a page that names no generation
| Not stated |
| Sound Recognition ≠ Differs | Sound Recognition for smoke and carbon monoxide alarm sounds Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
| Sound Recognition Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citationFrom a page that names no generation
|
| Privacy | Not stated | Private and secure Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citationFrom a page that names no generation
|
| Music service | Apple Music, Apple's streaming music service that's available starting at $11.99 per month Report, reported, not confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citationFrom a page that names no generation
| Not stated |
| Field | HomePod mini (current) | HomePod (2nd generation) |
|---|---|---|
| Stereo pair | Stereo pair capable Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
| Stereo pair capable Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citationFrom a page that names no generation
|
| Stereo pair needs ≠ Differs | two HomePod mini 2 or two HomePod (2nd generation) Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citationFrom a page that names no generation
| two of the same model and generation of HomePod speakers, such as two HomePod mini 2 or two HomePod (2nd generation) Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
|
| Surround sound | Surround sound with Apple TV 4K Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
| Surround sound with Apple TV 4K Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citationFrom a page that names no generation
|
| Home theater needs ≠ Differs | Home theater surround sound requires four HomePod mini 2 or HomePod (2nd generation) speakers in matching pairs Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
| four HomePod mini 2 or HomePod (2nd generation) speakers in matching pairs Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
|
| Multiroom audio ≠ Differs | Multiroom audio with AirPlay Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
| Multiroom audio Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citationFrom a page that names no generation
|