HomePod mini vs HomePod 1st gen

HomePod mini (current), HomePod (1st generation). 41 fields, 0 differ. Pick other products

Identity

Field HomePod mini (current)HomePod (1st generation)
Name
HomePod mini 2 Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 3 citations
  1. HomePod mini 2 Apple, confirmed by Apple
    Named as 2nd generation

    1. Apple page, Apple source Apple apple.com/homepod-mini/

      HomePod mini 2 Sound in living color.

      Stored Nov 3, 2026, revision 4.

    2. Apple page, Apple source Apple apple.com/homepod-mini/specs/

      HomePod mini 2 Technical Specifications

      Stored Nov 3, 2026, revision 4.

    3. Press, press source MacRumors macrumors.com/roundup/homepod-mini/

      HomePod mini 2 is a smaller version of the HomePod with an S10 chip, Sound Glow top, and Siri AI support.

      Stored Nov 3, 2026, revision 4.

2 other wordings on the product page

HomePod (1st generation) Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
  1. HomePod (1st generation) Apple, confirmed by Apple

    1. Apple page, Apple source Apple Support support.apple.com/en-us/docs/homepod

      HomePod (1st generation)

      Stored Nov 3, 2026, revision 3.

Availability

Field HomePod mini (current)HomePod (1st generation)
Status
Announced Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 3 citations
  1. announced Apple, confirmed by Apple
    Named as 2nd generation

    1. Apple page, Apple source Apple Newsroom apple.com/newsroom/rss-feed.rss

      Apple today announced HomePod mini 2, featuring Siri AI, gorgeous new colors, and enhanced audio experiences.

      Stored Nov 3, 2026, revision 4.

    2. Press, press source MacRumors macrumors.com/roundup/homepod-mini/

      Apple introduced the HomePod mini 2 in October 2026, marking the first real refresh to the speaker since its 2020 debut.

      Stored Nov 3, 2026, revision 4.

    3. Press, press source MacRumors macrumors.com/roundup/homepod-mini/

      Oct 13 Apple Announces $149 HomePod Mini 2 With Siri AI, 'Sound Glow', and Four-Speaker Surround Sound

      Stored Nov 3, 2026, revision 4.

1 other wording on the product page

Not stated

Price

Field HomePod mini (current)HomePod (1st generation)
Price
$149 Report, reported, not confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
  1. $149 Report, reported, not confirmed by Apple
    Named as 2nd generation

    1. Press, press source MacRumors macrumors.com/roundup/homepod-mini/

      HomePod mini 2 is priced at $149 in the United States and it can be ordered from Apple and other retailers.

      Stored Nov 3, 2026, revision 5.

1 other wording on the product page

Not stated
Earlier price
$99 Report, reported, not confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation From a page that names no generation
  1. $99 Report, reported, not confirmed by Apple
    No generation named

    1. Press, press source MacRumors macrumors.com/roundup/homepod-mini/

      The HomePod mini 2 is Apple's smaller smart speaker, featuring a round design, an updated S10 chip, 360-degree audio, a U1 chip, and Wi-Fi 6E for $149. The original HomePod mini used to be priced at $99, but Apple raised the price to $129 in June 2026 and then increased it again with the…

      Quote cut to 300 characters. Stored Nov 3, 2026, revision 4.

Not stated

Chip

Field HomePod mini (current)HomePod (1st generation)
Chip
S10 chip Report, reported, not confirmed by Apple . Show 2 citations
  1. S10 chip Report, reported, not confirmed by Apple
    Named as 2nd generation

    1. Press, press source MacRumors macrumors.com/roundup/homepod-mini/

      HomePod mini 2 is a smaller version of the HomePod with an S10 chip, Sound Glow top, and Siri AI support.

      Stored Nov 3, 2026, revision 4.

    2. Press, press source MacRumors macrumors.com/roundup/homepod-mini/

      Inside, the HomePod mini 2 is equipped with an S10 chip, which is the same chip that was first used in the Apple Watch Series 10. The S10 chip uses computational audio to analyze the music that's playing and optimize loudness, adjust dynamic range, and control driver and passive radiator movement…

      Quote cut to 300 characters. Stored Nov 3, 2026, revision 4.

5 other wordings on the product page

Not stated
Chip details
TSMC's N4 4nm process Report, reported, not confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
  1. TSMC's N4 4nm process Report, reported, not confirmed by Apple
    Named as 2nd generation

    1. Press, press source MacRumors macrumors.com/roundup/homepod-mini/

      The HomePod mini 2 is equipped with the S10 chip that was first used in the Apple Watch Series 10. It's built on TSMC's N4 4nm process and is based on the A16 Bionic chip from the iPhone 14 Pro. It is a more powerful chip than the S5 that was used in the original HomePod mini.

      Stored Nov 3, 2026, revision 4.

Not stated
Ultra Wideband
Ultra Wideband chip for device proximity Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation From a page that names no generation
  1. Ultra Wideband chip for device proximity Apple, confirmed by Apple
    No generation named

    1. Apple page, Apple source Apple apple.com/homepod-mini/specs/

      Ultra Wideband chip for device proximity

      Stored Nov 2, 2026, revision 1.

7 other wordings on the product page

Not stated

Audio

Field HomePod mini (current)HomePod (1st generation)
Drivers
Full-range driver and dual passive radiators for deep bass and crisp high frequencies Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
  1. Full-range driver and dual passive radiators for deep bass and crisp high frequencies Apple, confirmed by Apple
    Named as 2nd generation

    1. Apple page, Apple source Apple apple.com/homepod-mini/specs/

      Full-range driver and dual passive radiators for deep bass and crisp high frequencies

      Stored Nov 3, 2026, revision 4.

7 other wordings on the product page

Not stated
Sound field
Custom acoustic waveguide for a 360º sound field Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
  1. Custom acoustic waveguide for a 360º sound field Apple, confirmed by Apple
    Named as 2nd generation

    1. Apple page, Apple source Apple apple.com/homepod-mini/specs/

      Custom acoustic waveguide for a 360º sound field

      Stored Nov 3, 2026, revision 4.

2 other wordings on the product page

Not stated
Spatial Audio
not applicable Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation From a page that names no generation
  1. not applicable Apple, confirmed by Apple
    No generation named

    1. Apple page, Apple source Apple apple.com/homepod-mini/

      Spatial Audio not applicable

      Stored Nov 3, 2026, revision 3.

Not stated

Microphones

Field HomePod mini (current)HomePod (1st generation)
Microphones
Three-microphone design for far-field Siri Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
  1. Three-microphone design for far-field Siri Apple, confirmed by Apple
    Named as 2nd generation

    1. Apple page, Apple source Apple apple.com/homepod-mini/specs/

      Three-microphone design for far-field Siri

      Stored Nov 3, 2026, revision 4.

3 other wordings on the product page

Not stated

Connectivity

Field HomePod mini (current)HomePod (1st generation)
Wireless
Wi-Fi 6E, Bluetooth 6, and Thread Report, reported, not confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
  1. Wi-Fi 6E, Bluetooth 6, and Thread Report, reported, not confirmed by Apple
    Named as 2nd generation

    1. Press, press source MacRumors macrumors.com/roundup/homepod-mini/

      The HomePod mini 2 features Wi-Fi 6E, Bluetooth 6, and Thread, plus it has a built-in U1 Ultra Wideband chip that allows it to interface with iPhones that have an Ultra Wideband chip. Bringing an iPhone close to the HomePod mini 2 allows the music that's playing on the iPhone to be handed off to…

      Quote cut to 300 characters. Stored Nov 3, 2026, revision 4.

Not stated
Wi-Fi
Wi-Fi 6E (802.11ax) Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation From a page that names no generation
  1. Wi-Fi 6E (802.11ax) Apple, confirmed by Apple
    No generation named

    1. Apple page, Apple source Apple apple.com/homepod-mini/specs/

      Wi-Fi 6E (802.11ax)

      Stored Nov 2, 2026, revision 1.

1 other wording on the product page

Not stated
Bluetooth
Bluetooth 6 Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation From a page that names no generation
  1. Bluetooth 6 Apple, confirmed by Apple
    No generation named

    1. Apple page, Apple source Apple apple.com/homepod-mini/specs/

      Bluetooth 6

      Stored Nov 2, 2026, revision 1.

1 other wording on the product page

Not stated
Thread
Thread networking technology Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation From a page that names no generation
  1. Thread networking technology Apple, confirmed by Apple
    No generation named

    1. Apple page, Apple source Apple apple.com/homepod-mini/specs/

      Thread networking technology

      Stored Nov 2, 2026, revision 1.

1 other wording on the product page

Not stated

Sensors

Field HomePod mini (current)HomePod (1st generation)
Sensors
humidity and temperature sensors Report, reported, not confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
  1. humidity and temperature sensors Report, reported, not confirmed by Apple
    Named as 2nd generation

    1. Press, press source MacRumors macrumors.com/roundup/homepod-mini/

      There are humidity and temperature sensors in the HomePod mini 2 that can be used to trigger automations. The HomePod mini requires continual power and it has a color-matched USB-C power cord that plugs into a power adapter.

      Stored Nov 3, 2026, revision 4.

1 other wording on the product page

Not stated
Room sensing
not applicable Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation From a page that names no generation
  1. not applicable Apple, confirmed by Apple
    No generation named

    1. Apple page, Apple source Apple apple.com/homepod-mini/

      Room sensing not applicable

      Stored Nov 3, 2026, revision 3.

Not stated

Colors

Field HomePod mini (current)HomePod (1st generation)
Colors
five stunning colors Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
  1. five stunning colors Apple, confirmed by Apple
    Named as 2nd generation

    1. Apple page, Apple source Apple apple.com/homepod-mini/

      Colors. Available in five stunning colors. HomePod mini 2 shown in Green.

      Stored Nov 3, 2026, revision 4.

4 other wordings on the product page

Not stated

Size and weight

Field HomePod mini (current)HomePod (1st generation)
Height
3.3 inches high Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
  1. 3.3 inches high Apple, confirmed by Apple
    Named as 2nd generation

    1. Apple page, Apple source Apple apple.com/homepod-mini/specs/

      3.3 inches high (84.3 mm)

      Stored Nov 3, 2026, revision 4.

2 other wordings on the product page

Not stated
Width
3.9 inches wide Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
  1. 3.9 inches wide Apple, confirmed by Apple
    Named as 2nd generation

    1. Apple page, Apple source Apple apple.com/homepod-mini/specs/

      3.9 inches wide (97.9 mm)

      Stored Nov 3, 2026, revision 4.

1 other wording on the product page

Not stated
Dimensions
3.3 inches tall and 3.9 inches wide Report, reported, not confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation From a page that names no generation
  1. 3.3 inches tall and 3.9 inches wide Report, reported, not confirmed by Apple
    No generation named

    1. Press, press source MacRumors macrumors.com/roundup/homepod-mini/

      HomePod mini measures in at 3.3 inches tall and 3.9 inches wide, and it weighs 0.74 pounds (0.2 pounds lighter than the prior version), so it's small enough to fit just about anywhere. There's a silicone base at the bottom of the HomePod mini that keeps it in place.

      Stored Nov 3, 2026, revision 3.

Not stated
Weight
0.74 pound (335 grams) Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
  1. 0.74 pound (335 grams) Apple, confirmed by Apple
    Named as 2nd generation

    1. Apple page, Apple source Apple apple.com/homepod-mini/specs/

      Weight 0.74 pound (335 grams)

      Stored Nov 3, 2026, revision 4.

1 other wording on the product page

Not stated

Power

Field HomePod mini (current)HomePod (1st generation)
Power
9V/2.22A required by HomePod mini 2 Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
  1. 9V/2.22A required by HomePod mini 2 Apple, confirmed by Apple
    Named as 2nd generation

    1. Apple page, Apple source Apple apple.com/homepod-mini/specs/

      The 20W power adapter supplies 9V/2.22A required by HomePod mini 2.

      Stored Nov 3, 2026, revision 6.

4 other wordings on the product page

Not stated
Power adapter
20W power adapter Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
  1. 20W power adapter Apple, confirmed by Apple
    Named as 2nd generation

    1. Apple page, Apple source Apple apple.com/homepod-mini/specs/

      20W power adapter

      Stored Nov 3, 2026, revision 4.

1 other wording on the product page

Not stated
Cable and port
beautiful color-matched woven power cord Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
  1. beautiful color-matched woven power cord Apple, confirmed by Apple
    Named as 2nd generation

    1. Apple page, Apple source Apple apple.com/homepod-mini/

      Woven power cord. A beautiful color-matched woven power cord.

      Stored Nov 3, 2026, revision 4.

1 other wording on the product page

Not stated

Software and Siri

Field HomePod mini (current)HomePod (1st generation)
Software version
HomePod Software 27.2 Report, reported, not confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
  1. HomePod Software 27.2 Report, reported, not confirmed by Apple
    Named as 2nd generation

    1. Press, press source MacRumors macrumors.com/roundup/homepod-mini/

      The HomePod mini 2 ships with HomePod Software 27.2.

      Stored Nov 3, 2026, revision 4.

1 other wording on the product page

Not stated
Siri
Siri AI, an entirely new version of Siri powered by Apple Intelligence Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation From a page that names no generation
  1. Siri AI, an entirely new version of Siri powered by Apple Intelligence Apple, confirmed by Apple
    No generation named

    1. Apple page, Apple source Apple apple.com/homepod-mini/specs/

      Siri AI, an entirely new version of Siri powered by Apple Intelligence, helps with everyday tasks like sending messages, setting reminders, and more

      Stored Nov 2, 2026, revision 1.

4 other wordings on the product page

Not stated

Design

Field HomePod mini (current)HomePod (1st generation)
Design
Round design Report, reported, not confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
  1. Round design Report, reported, not confirmed by Apple
    Named as 2nd generation

    1. Press, press source MacRumors macrumors.com/roundup/homepod-mini/

      The HomePod mini 2 is Apple's smaller smart speaker, featuring a round design, an updated S10 chip, 360-degree audio, a U1 chip, and Wi-Fi 6E for $149. The original HomePod mini used to be priced at $99, but Apple raised the price to $129 in June 2026 and then increased it again with the…

      Quote cut to 300 characters. Stored Nov 3, 2026, revision 4.

3 other wordings on the product page

Not stated
Mesh
Two-tone, seamless mesh that's virtually transparent to the sound passing through it. Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
  1. Two-tone, seamless mesh that's virtually transparent to the sound passing through it. Apple, confirmed by Apple
    Named as 2nd generation

    1. Apple page, Apple source Apple apple.com/homepod-mini/

      Mesh. Two-tone, seamless mesh that’s virtually transparent to the sound passing through it.

      Stored Nov 3, 2026, revision 4.

1 other wording on the product page

Not stated
Touch controls
backlit tinted surface on top, controlled by your touch Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
  1. backlit tinted surface on top, controlled by your touch Apple, confirmed by Apple
    Named as 2nd generation

    1. Apple page, Apple source Apple apple.com/homepod-mini/

      Touch controls. Featuring a backlit tinted surface on top, controlled by your touch.

      Stored Nov 3, 2026, revision 4.

2 other wordings on the product page

Not stated
Light
Light up the top of HomePod mini 2 with Sound Glow — a light experience featuring colors that match your album artwork and pulse in tune with the music. Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
  1. Light up the top of HomePod mini 2 with Sound Glow — a light experience featuring colors that match your album artwork and pulse in tune with the music. Apple, confirmed by Apple
    Named as 2nd generation

    1. Apple page, Apple source Apple apple.com/homepod-mini/

      Light up the top of HomePod mini 2 with Sound Glow — a light experience featuring colors that match your album artwork and pulse in tune with the music. Play a soundscape and Sound Glow matches the mood.

      Stored Nov 3, 2026, revision 6.

1 other wording on the product page

Not stated

Home features

Field HomePod mini (current)HomePod (1st generation)
Smart home hub
Smart home hub Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation From a page that names no generation
  1. Smart home hub Apple, confirmed by Apple
    No generation named

    1. Apple page, Apple source Apple apple.com/homepod-mini/

      HomePod mini acts as a smart home hub, making it easy to control your smart home accessories hands-free from anywhere.

      Stored Nov 3, 2026, revision 6.

2 other wordings on the product page

Not stated
Security camera feeds
With HomeKit Secure Video support, HomePod mini can analyze the feeds of your supported video cameras. Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation From a page that names no generation
  1. With HomeKit Secure Video support, HomePod mini can analyze the feeds of your supported video cameras. Apple, confirmed by Apple
    No generation named

    1. Apple page, Apple source Apple apple.com/homepod-mini/

      With HomeKit Secure Video support, HomePod mini can analyze the feeds of your supported video cameras. All video processing is done right on device before it’s sent end‑to‑end encrypted to iCloud — so your recordings can only be seen by you and the people you share them with, not Apple.

      Stored Nov 3, 2026, revision 6.

Not stated
Intercom
With HomePod mini and Apple Home devices in the house, you can communicate with your family members by voice using Intercom. Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation From a page that names no generation
  1. With HomePod mini and Apple Home devices in the house, you can communicate with your family members by voice using Intercom. Apple, confirmed by Apple
    No generation named

    1. Apple page, Apple source Apple apple.com/homepod-mini/

      With HomePod mini and Apple Home devices in the house, you can communicate with your family members by voice using Intercom. Ask Siri to send your message to the whole house or to individual rooms — and everyone can easily respond.

      Stored Nov 3, 2026, revision 6.

Not stated
Sound Recognition
Sound Recognition for smoke and carbon monoxide alarm sounds Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
  1. Sound Recognition for smoke and carbon monoxide alarm sounds Apple, confirmed by Apple
    Named as 2nd generation

    1. Apple page, Apple source Apple apple.com/homepod-mini/specs/

      Sound Recognition for smoke and carbon monoxide alarm sounds

      Stored Nov 3, 2026, revision 4.

2 other wordings on the product page

Not stated
Music service
Apple Music, Apple's streaming music service that's available starting at $11.99 per month Report, reported, not confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation From a page that names no generation
  1. Apple Music, Apple's streaming music service that's available starting at $11.99 per month Report, reported, not confirmed by Apple
    No generation named

    1. Press, press source MacRumors macrumors.com/roundup/homepod-mini/

      HomePod mini works with Apple Music, Apple's streaming music service that's available starting at $11.99 per month. It connects directly to Apple Music in the cloud over Wi-Fi, so it is able to access a user's music library with playlists, music mixes, and preferences.

      Stored Nov 3, 2026, revision 6.

Not stated

Pairing and home theater

Field HomePod mini (current)HomePod (1st generation)
Stereo pair
Stereo pair capable Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
  1. Stereo pair capable Apple, confirmed by Apple
    Named as 2nd generation

    1. Apple page, Apple source Apple apple.com/homepod-mini/specs/

      Stereo pair capable

      Stored Nov 3, 2026, revision 4.

2 other wordings on the product page

Not stated
Stereo pair needs
two HomePod mini 2 or two HomePod (2nd generation) Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation From a page that names no generation
  1. two HomePod mini 2 or two HomePod (2nd generation) Apple, confirmed by Apple
    No generation named

    1. Apple page, Apple source Apple apple.com/homepod-mini/specs/

      Creating a HomePod stereo pair requires two of the same model and generation of HomePod speakers, such as two HomePod mini 2 or two HomePod (2nd generation).

      Stored Nov 3, 2026, revision 6.

1 other wording on the product page

Not stated
Surround sound
Surround sound with Apple TV 4K Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
  1. Surround sound with Apple TV 4K Apple, confirmed by Apple
    Named as 2nd generation

    1. Apple page, Apple source Apple apple.com/homepod-mini/specs/

      Surround sound with Apple TV 4K

      Stored Nov 3, 2026, revision 4.

1 other wording on the product page

Not stated
Home theater needs
Home theater surround sound requires four HomePod mini 2 or HomePod (2nd generation) speakers in matching pairs Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
  1. Home theater surround sound requires four HomePod mini 2 or HomePod (2nd generation) speakers in matching pairs Apple, confirmed by Apple
    Named as 2nd generation

    1. Apple page, Apple source Apple apple.com/homepod-mini/specs/

      Home theater surround sound requires four HomePod mini 2 or HomePod (2nd generation) speakers in matching pairs (front and rear) and paired with Apple TV 4K (4th generation) running the latest operating system software.

      Stored Nov 3, 2026, revision 4.

1 other wording on the product page

Not stated
Multiroom audio
Multiroom audio with AirPlay Apple, confirmed by Apple . Show 1 citation
  1. Multiroom audio with AirPlay Apple, confirmed by Apple
    Named as 2nd generation

    1. Apple page, Apple source Apple apple.com/homepod-mini/specs/

      Multiroom audio with AirPlay

      Stored Nov 3, 2026, revision 4.

2 other wordings on the product page

Not stated